

Chapter 1A – System & Office Operations

Board Policy 1A.11 College and University Names and Permanent Locations

Part 1. System Colleges and Universities

The following are the recognized Minnesota State colleges and universities and their permanent locations, as authorized by state law.

College or University

Alexandria Technical and Community College Anoka-Ramsey Community College Anoka Technical College Bemidji State University* Central Lakes College Century College Dakota County Technical College Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College Hennepin Technical College Inver Hills Community College Lake Superior College Metropolitan State University Minneapolis Community and Technical College Minnesota North College

Minnesota State College - Southeast Minnesota State Community and Technical College Minnesota State University, Mankato Minnesota State University Moorhead Minnesota West Community and Technical College

Normandale Community College North Hennepin Community College Northland Community and Technical College Northwest Technical College* Pine Technical and Community College Ridgewater College Riverland Community College Rochester Community and Technical College Saint Paul College St. Cloud State University St. Cloud Technical and Community College South Central College

Campuses, Centers

Alexandria Coon Rapids, Cambridge Anoka Bemidji Brainerd, Staples White Bear Lake/Mahtomedi** Rosemount Cloquet Brooklyn Park, Eden Prairie **Inver Grove Heights** Duluth St. Paul Minneapolis Hibbing, Grand Rapids, Eveleth, Virginia, International Falls, Ely Red Wing, Winona Detroit Lakes, Fergus Falls, Moorhead, Wadena Mankato Moorhead Canby, Granite Falls, Jackson, Pipestone, Worthington Bloomington **Brooklyn Park** East Grand Forks, Thief River Falls Bemidji Pine City Hutchinson, Willmar Albert Lea, Austin, Owatonna Rochester St. Paul St. Cloud St. Cloud Faribault, North Mankato

Southwest Minnesota State University Winona State University Marshall Winona

* Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College report to one president.
** Single campus located in adjacent cities.

Part 2. Additional Sites. Courses and programs are also available online and at other sites throughout the state.

Part 3. Name Changes. College or university name changes and taglines must be in accordance with Policy 3.23.

Date of Adoption:09/17/08Date of Implementation:09/17/08Date of Last Review:

Date and Subject of Amendments:

- 05/23/22 Deleted the individual references to the five colleges that make up the Northeast Higher Education District.
- 03/16/22 The Board of Trustees approve the reorganization and consolidation of Hibbing Community College, Itasca Community College, Mesabi Range College, Rainy River Community College, and Vermilion Community College, resulting in the Northeast Higher Education District becoming the sole HLC-accredited entity and operating henceforth as a single unified college with six branch campuses. The merged institution will operate under the name "Minnesota North College" starting May 23, 2022.
- 1/27/21 The Board approved a name change for Northeast Higher Education District (NHED) Consolidation to Minnesota North College. The new name will take effect upon completion of the merger of the five colleges into a single accredited institution (anticipated for fall of 2022).

Additional HISTORY.