Posted: May 21, 2003

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees today approved new names requested by two of the system's institutions. Southwest State University in Marshall will become Southwest Minnesota State University beginning July 1, and Anoka-Hennepin Technical College in Anoka will be named Anoka Technical College, effective immediately.

Southwest State University asked to return "Minnesota" to the name of the university, which was founded as Southwest Minnesota State College in 1967.

"A name change will better reflect our geographic location and identify us with the state of Minnesota," President David C. Danahar said.

Anoka-Hennepin Technical College sought the name change to Anoka Technical College to reduce confusion with other metro-area colleges and the local school district. The college has gone through five name changes since opening in 1967, but the name always has included "Anoka," college President Anne Weyandt said.

"The name Anoka Technical College provides a geographic location and reflects our mission as a technical college," Weyandt said.

The board also was asked to consider a new name, Minnesota State Community and Technical College, for the recently combined campuses of Fergus Falls Community College and three Northwest Technical College campuses in Detroit lakes, Moorhead and Wadena.

The newly expanded college results from the system's realignment of the former Northwest Technical College with other system institutions in the region to save money and enhance educational offerings. The Northwest Technical College campus in East Grand Forks has been combined with Northland Community and Technical College in Thief River Falls, and the Bemidji campus of Northwest Technical College now is paired with Bemidji State University.

The board will take final action on the Minnesota State Community and Technical College name at its June meeting.