WHEREAS, the Minnesota State College Student Association was founded in 1998, and the past, present, and future leadership of the Minnesota State College Student Association desires to recognize extraordinary contributions of those that have supported the success and growth of the organization and developing student leaders over the years;

WHEREAS, Dr. James McCormick has served as Chancellor of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities from July 1, 2001 to July 31, 2011, bringing a high level of leadership and stability to an emerging and growing higher education system;

WHEREAS, Chancellor McCormick has demonstrated continuous commitment and dedication to the shared ideals, principles, and values of the students, resulting in policies and procedures that provide students more power, stronger voices, and a greater sense of pride;

WHEREAS, Chancellor McCormick made regular meetings with students a priority, opened lines of communications between system and student leadership, and reinforced the importance of students in his work by asking "What have I done for the students today?" through his tenure;

WHEREAS, Chancellor McCormick along with his wife, Dr. Maryan McCormick, have served as friends, mentors, and role models to countless people and many members of the Minnesota State College Student Association over the years, recognizing the importance of students' roles within higher education, society, and as emerging leaders for this country;

WHEREAS, Chancellor and Dr. Maryan McCormick have supported student initiatives, programs, and scholarships with generous financial contributions during the Chancellor's tenure;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Minnesota State College Student Association duly recognizes Dr. James McCormick, along with his wife, Dr. Maryan McCormick for their many years of distinguished service to the students of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities and hereby bestows upon them an honorary lifetime membership to the Minnesota State College Student Association; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Minnesota State College Student Association in partnership with the Minnesota State University Student Association and Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Foundation, do hereby establish the McCormick Leadership Scholarship in honor of Dr. James and Dr. Maryan McCormick.

We, the undersigned, hereby certify this Resolution was duly adopted by the General Assembly of the Minnesota State College Student Association on this, the 15th day of April, 2011.

100,000 students

One powerful voice

Minnesota State College Student Association

Travis Johnson, President

Justin Klander, Executive Director