MINNESOTA STATE COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES BOARD OF TRUSTEES HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES July 19, 2011

Human Resources Committee Members Present: Clarence Hightower, Chair; Thomas Renier, Vice Chair; Cheryl Dickson; Dan McElroy; David Paskach; Louise Sundin

Human Resources Committee Member Absent: None

Other Board Members Present: Brett Anderson; Duane Benson; Jacob Englund; Phil Krinkie; Alfredo Oliveira; Christine Rice; Scott Thiss; James Van Houten

Leadership Council Committee Members Present: Lori Lamb, Vice Chancellor for Human Resources, and Earl Potter, President, St. Cloud State University

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Human Resources Committee held its committee meeting on Tuesday, July 19, 2011, in the McCormick Room, 30 Seventh Street East, St. Paul. Chair Hightower called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

1. MINUTES OF JUNE 21, 2011

Chair Hightower called for the motion to approve the minutes of the Human Resources Committee meeting on June 21, 2011. The minutes were moved, seconded and passed without dissent.

2. HUMAN RESOURCES UPDATE

Vice Chancellor Lamb welcomed new board committee members and expressed appreciation to President Potter for his service over the past two years. She announced the kickoffs of the Minnesota Partnership on executive development and the sixth cohort of the Luoma Leadership Academy. She provided an update on the national search for a vice chancellor for academic and student affairs. We are working with a consultant to identify candidates at this time.

3. APPOINTMENT OF INTERIM VICE CHANCELLOR FOR ACADEMIC AND STUDENT AFFAIRS

Chancellor McCormick stated that Dr. Scott Olson will end his term on July 31, 2011, as the interim vice chancellor for academic and student affairs. In consideration of the chancellor transition, it was determined that an interim vice chancellor should be appointed to serve until such time as a permanent vice chancellor can be hired by the new chancellor. Nominations and expressions of interest were sought from the board, presidents, system office staff and other individuals within and outside the system. Candidates were reviewed for qualifications and a selection was made. In consultation with Chancellor-designate Steven Rosenstone, Chancellor McCormick recommended Dr. Larry Litecky to serve as interim vice chancellor until a permanent appointment is made.

The Human Resources Committee recommended that the Board of Trustees adopt the following motion:

The Board of Trustees, upon the recommendation of Chancellor McCormick, appoints Larry P. Litecky as interim vice chancellor for academic and student affairs in the Office of the Chancellor effective August 1, 2011, subject to the completion of an employment agreement. The Board authorizes the Chancellor, in consultation with the Chair of the Board and Chair of the Human Resources Committee, to negotiate and execute an employment agreement in accordance with the terms and conditions of the Personnel Plan for Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Administrators.

The motion passed without dissent.

4. EMERITI RECOGNITION

Pursuant to Board Policy 4.8, Emeritus Status, Chancellor McCormick presented his recommendation to confer presidential emeritus status on Larry Litecky, who served as president at Century College from 2000-2011, and Donovan Schwichtenberg, who served as president at Saint Paul College from 1990-2011.

The Human Resources Committee recommended that the Board of Trustees adopt the following motion:

Upon the recommendation of Chancellor James H. McCormick, and in recognition that each has served with great distinction, the Board of Trustees hereby confers upon Larry Litecky the honorary title of President Emeritus of Century College, and confers upon Donovan Schwichtenberg the honorary title of President Emeritus of Saint Paul College, effective August 1, 2011.

The motion passed without dissent.

5. **Recognition of Presidential Years of Service**

In keeping with the Office of the Chancellor's practice of recognizing employees' length of service, Chancellor McCormick stated that there are two presidents who have reached a milestone year of presidential service in our system. Recognition for ten years of presidential service will be made at the full Board Meeting to David Danahar, retired president of Southwest Minnesota State University. Additionally, recognition for 20 years of presidential service will be made to Pat Johns, president of Lake Superior College.

6. CLOSED SESSION ON BARGAINING

Chair Hightower announced that there would not be a closed session.

7. OTHER

Chair Hightower asked Chair Thiss to review for the board how goals will be set for FY 2012 after Steven Rosenstone becomes chancellor on August 1. Chair Thiss explained the process as it was done in the past and that Chancellor-designate Rosenstone has been actively focusing on FY 2012 goals during this time of transition.

Meeting adjourned.

Submitted by, Vicki Tschida, Recorder