# MINNESOTA STATE COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES BOARD OF TRUSTEES

### **Agenda Item Summary Sheet**

Name: Human Resources Committees Date: October 22, 2014						
Title: Emeriti Recognition						
Purpose (check one):  Proposed New Policy or Amendment to Existing Policy  Approvals Required by Policy Policy						
Monitoring / Information Compliance						
<b>Brief Description:</b>						
Board Policy 4.8, Emeritus Status						
<ul> <li>Recommendation for emeritus status on the following presidents who retired in 2014:</li> <li>Phillip Davis, Minneapolis Community and Technical College</li> <li>James Johnson, Minnesota State College-Southeast Technical</li> <li>Kevin Kopischke, Alexandria Technical and Community College</li> <li>Joseph Opatz, Normandale Community College</li> <li>Edna Mora Szymanski, Minnesota State University Moorhead</li> </ul>						
Scheduled Presenter(s): Steven Rosenstone						

## BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINNESOTA STATE COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES

#### **BOARD ACTION**

#### **EMERITI RECOGNITION**

1	RA	CK	GR	OΙ	JND
L	$\mathbf{p}_{I}$		$\mathbf{u}$	$\mathbf{v}$	J 1 1 1 2 2

Pursuant to Board Policy 4.8, Emeritus Status, Chancellor Rosenstone will present his recommendation to confer presidential emeritus status upon the following presidents, who have served as presidents in good standing and retired in 2014:

4 5 6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

2

3

- Phillip Davis, serving as president at Minneapolis Community and Technical College from 1998-2014
- James Johnson, serving as president at Minnesota State College-Southeast Technical from 1997-2014
- Kevin Kopischke, serving as president at Alexandria Technical and Community College from 2004-2014
- Joseph Opatz, serving as president at Normandale Community College from 2007-2014
- Edna Mora Szymanski, serving as president at Minnesota State University Moorhead from 2008-2014

14 15 16

#### RECOMMENDED COMMITTEE ACTION

The Human Resources Committee recommends that the Board of Trustees adopt the following motion.

18 19 20

17

#### RECOMMENDED MOTION

- 21 Upon the recommendation of Chancellor Steven Rosenstone, and in recognition that they have
- served with great distinction, the Board of Trustees hereby confers the honorary title of President
- 23 Emeritus upon Phillip Davis, Minneapolis Community and Technical College; James Johnson,
- 24 Minnesota State College Southeast Technical; Kevin Kopischke, Alexandria Technical and
- 25 Community College; Joseph Opatz, Normandale Community College; and Edna Mora
- 26 Szymanski, Minnesota State University Moorhead.

27

28 Date of Approval: October 22, 2014