MINNESOTA STATE COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES BOARD OF TRUSTEES HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES October 21, 2015

Human Resources Committee Members Present: Dawn Erlandson, Chair; Trustees Margaret Anderson Kelliher, Duane Benson, Alexander Cirillo, Robert Hoffman, and Elise Ristau.

Human Resources Committee Members Absent: Ann Anaya, Vice Chair.

Other Board Members Present: John Cowles, Philip Krinkie, Maleah Otterson, Tom Renier, Louise Sundin, and Michael Vekich.

Leadership Council Members Present: Steven Rosenstone, Chancellor; Mark Carlson, Vice Chancellor for Human Resources.

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Human Resources Committee held its meeting on October 21, 2015, at Wells Fargo Place, 4th Floor, Board Room, 30 East 7th Street in St. Paul. Chair Erlandson called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

1. Minutes of June 17, 2015

Chair Erlandson called for the motion to approve the minutes of the Human Resources Committee on June 17, 2015. The minutes were moved, seconded and passed without dissent.

2. Approval of Minnesota State University Association of Administrative and Service Faculty Bargaining Contract

Vice Chancellor Carlson summarized the terms of the tentative agreement between Minnesota State Colleges and Universities and the Minnesota State University Association of Administrative and Service Faculty (MSUAASF) in their 2016-2017 labor contract. Tentative agreement was reached on September 15, 2015, and ratification was completed on October 16, 2015. The tentative agreement was brought forward to the Board of Trustees for approval before moving on for legislative approval.

The Human Resource Committee recommended that the Board of Trustees adopt the following motion:

The Board of Trustees approves the terms of the 2016-2017 labor agreement between Minnesota State Colleges and Universities and the Minnesota State University Association of Administrative and Service Faculty (MSUAASF) and authorizes Chancellor Steven Rosenstone to sign the agreement on behalf of the Board of Trustees.

The motion passed without dissent.

3. Approval of Inter Faculty Organization Bargaining Contract

Vice Chancellor Carlson summarized the terms of the tentative agreement between Minnesota State Colleges and Universities and the Inter Faculty Organization (IFO) in their 2016-2017 labor contract. Tentative agreement was reached on August 12, 2015, and ratification was completed on October 16, 2015. The tentative agreement was brought forward to the Board of Trustees for approval before moving on for legislative approval.

The Human Resource Committee recommended that the Board of Trustees adopt the following motion:

The Board of Trustees approves the terms of the 2016-2017 labor agreement between Minnesota State Colleges and Universities and the Inter Faculty Organization (IFO) and authorizes Chancellor Steven Rosenstone to sign the agreement on behalf of the Board of Trustees.

The motion passed without dissent.

4. Approval of MnSCU Personnel Plan for Administrators

Vice Chancellor Carlson presented an overview of the proposed changes to the Plan, some of which included:

- A 2.25% merit pool in each year of the biennium.
- A 2.25% increase to the General Salary Grid.
- No change to salary ranges for chancellor, vice chancellors and presidents.
- Increase the aggregate amount of additional compensation that can be paid to an administrator for "incidental" work unrelated to normal job duties from \$1000 per year to \$2000 per year.
- Increased the number of sick leave days (from 5 to 10) a birth mother or adoptive parent may be granted upon the birth or adoption of a child.
- Harmonize the years of service as a State manager or MnSCU administrator that are required to be eligible for severance pay.
- Technical changes to improve clarity and readability of the administrators plan

The Human Resources Committee recommended that the Board of Trustees adopt the following motion:

The Board of Trustees approves the MnSCU Personnel Plan for Administrators for 2016-17, and authorizes the chancellor and his designees to take all measures they deem appropriate to secure the legislative approval to implement the Plan.

The motion passed without dissent.

5. Emeriti Recognition

Pursuant to Board Policy 4.8, Emeritus Status, Chancellor Rosenstone presented his recommendation to confer presidential emeritus status upon the following presidents, who have served as presidents in good standing and retired in 2015. Cecilia Cervantes, serving as president at Hennepin Technical College from 2008-2015; Sue Collins, serving as president at Northeast Higher Education District from 2008-2015; Robert Musgrove, serving as president at Pine

Technical and Community College from 1998-2015; and Anne Temte, serving as president at Northland Community and Technical College from 2006-2015.

The Human Resources Committee recommended that the Board of Trustees adopt the following motion:

Upon the recommendation of Chancellor Steven Rosenstone, and in recognition that they have served with great distinction, the Board of Trustees hereby confers the honorary title of President Emeritus upon Cecilia Cervantes, Hennepin Technical College; Sue Collins, Northeast Higher Education District; Robert Musgrove, Pine Technical and Community College; and Anne Temte, Northland Community and Technical College.

The motion passed without dissent.

The meeting adjourned at 9:53 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Pa Yang, Recorder