Governor Names Five Members to MnSCU Board of Trustees

Posted: May 8, 1996

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Governor Arne Carlson recently named four new members to the Board of Trustees of Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) and re-appointed one member.

The 15-member board provides leadership for MnSCU, a statewide system of community colleges, state universities and technical colleges serving more than 151,000 students.

New appointees to six-year terms beginning on July 1 are:

Dennis Dotson of Mankato. Dotson is president of the Dotson Company, an iron foundry. He currently serves on the boards of Community Partners for Progress and Southern Minnesota Advocates. He will represent the First Congressional District.

Robert O. Erickson of Bloomington. Erickson is a retired senior vice president for finance and operations at the University of Minnesota. He previously held senior positions at Super Valu Stores Inc. He serves on the Harriet Tubman Center Finance Committee, the Bach Society Board of Directors and is active in several other civic organizations. He will serve as an at-large member of the board.

Michael M. Vekich of St. Louis Park. Vekich is CEO of Vekich Arkema, a firm providing management and financial advisory services. He is active in the Hennepin County Sheriff's Emergency Squad, the Salvation Army and other civic groups. He will represent the Fifth Congressional District.

Re-appointed to a six-year term was:

Nancy Brataas of Rochester. Brataas is a retired state senator and a political campaign consultant. As a MnSCU board member, she has visited 61 of the 62 campuses in the system. She previously served on the Minnesota Community College System Board. She will serve as an at-large member.

Named to fill a vacancy on the board created by the resignation of John Mulder of Rochester for a term expiring July 1, 2000, was:

Morrie Anderson of Mound. Anderson has served as the governor's chief of staff since December 1994. He also has worked as a city manager, elected county commissioner and commissioner of the state Department of Revenue and as executive director of the Association of Minnesota Counties. His appointment on April 16 took effect immediately. He will serve as an at-large member of the board.

The two-year terms of two of the board's three student members expire on June 30, and Governor Carlson also will be making those appointments.

Non-student members who will complete their service on the board on June 30 are Robert Cahlander of Red Wing, Fannie Primm of Minneapolis and Nellie Stone Johnson of Minneapolis.

The Board of Trustees provides leadership in such areas as academic programs, fiscal management, personnel, admissions requirements, tuition and fees, and rules and regulations. The board appoints the chancellor, who serves as chief executive officer of the system.