Posted: June 11, 1996

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Finalists for two new senior positions in the system office for Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) were announced today by Chancellor Judith Eaton.

The positions are:

  • Vice chancellor for policy and planning, responsible to the chancellor in the areas of policy development, policy-related research, strategic planning and management information systems
  • Associate vice chancellor for policy analysis, responsible to the vice chancellor for policy and planning in the areas of policy development, strategic planning and research for the MnSCU system.

The positions were created as part of a system office reorganization and downsizing that will reduce the number of employees by approximately 100 positions, or 50 percent, and structure the office around four key areas: policy development, government liaison and public advocacy, strategic planning and budget.

The finalists will be interviewed in the next several days by members of the MnSCU Board of Trustees, the chancellor, the MnSCU Joint Council of Presidents and other representatives of the colleges and universities and the system office.

Chancellor Eaton will recommend a candidate for the vice chancellor's position to the Board of Trustees at its regular meeting on July 17, and the board is expected to select the vice chancellor that day. Selection of the associate vice chancellor does not require board approval.

Here are the finalists and the dates of their interviews:

Vice Chancellor for Policy and Planning:

Paul M. Butler-Nalin (June 14) has been the university planning administrator at the University of Northern Iowa in Cedar Falls since 1990. His previous experience has included policy analysis positions with SRI International (formerly the Stanford Research Institute) from 1987 to 1990 and the American Institutes for Research from 1985 to 1987. Between 1971 and 1977 he was associated with the Educational Testing Service, where he served as a research assistant on various ETS projects. His Ph.D. in higher education administration and policy analysis was earned at Stanford University.

Karen M. Rasmussen (June 17) has been with the Indiana Commission for Higher Education since 1985, assuming her current position of associate commissioner for planning and policy studies in 1991. Previously, she served as assistant commissioner (1986-1991) and as assistant director and acting director for academic affairs (1985-1986). Her prior experience was at Indiana University at South Bend, where she was assistant and associate dean of faculties from 1979 to 1984, and assistant and associate professor of history from 1973 to 1978. Rasmussen has a Ph.D. in history from the University of California Berkeley.

Kenneth R. Sauer (June 20) has served as associate commissioner for research and academic affairs with the Indiana Commission for Higher Education since 1992. He has been with the commission since 1985, serving first as director of academic affairs (1985-1989) and then as assistant commissioner for academic affairs (1989-1992). From 1982 to 1985 he served as assistant and associate director of academic and health affairs with the Illinois Board of Higher Education. Previously, he was a staff associate with the National Center for Higher Education Management Systems (NCHEMS) from 1975 to 1980. He also served as director of the Computer Services Office at the Claremont Graduate School from 1974 to 1975. His Ph.D. in government and international relations is from the Claremont Graduate School.

Associate Vice Chancellor for Policy Analysis:

Patricia N. Haeuser (June 13) is director of institutional research at the University of Wisconsin-Stout, a position she has held since 1993. Her prior professional experience includes a number of positions at Anne Arundel Community College in Maryland, including senior director of planning and research (1989 to 1993), director of institutional research (1984-1989), coordinator of institutional research (1983-1984) and research assistant (1982-1983). From 1977 to 1980 she was a research assistant at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Haeuser has a Ph.D. in political science from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Katrina A. Meyer (June 14) has been associate director for academic affairs with the Washington Higher Education Coordinating Board (HECB) since 1994. She has been with the HECB since 1989, serving as a policy associate and senior policy associate from 1989 to 1992 and as assistant director for academic policy and program review from 1992 to 1994. From 1985 to 1988 she was assistant director in the research services office at Bowling Green State University. Meyer has a Ph.D. in education from the University of Washington.

Michael F. Middaugh (June 17) is director of institutional research and planning and assistant professor of educational leadership at the University of Delaware in Newark. He has been at Delaware since 1985. From 1981 to 1985, Middaugh was assistant to the president for institutional research and planning at the State University of New York (SUNY) Institute of Technology in Utica, New York. He served as assistant director of institutional research at the SUNY college at New Paltz from 1979 to 1981. Middaugh has a doctorate degree in education from the State University of New York at Albany.

Gebre H. Tesfagiorgis (June 13) is director of institutional research and planning in the central administration unit at the University of Nebraska, a position he has held since 1992. Previously he served in various positions in the University of Wisconsin system administration from 1979 to 1992, including academic services specialist, policy and planning analyst and senior policy and planning analyst. Tesfagiorgis has a J.D. degree and a Ph.D. in educational administration, both from the University of Wisconsin.

The candidates emerged from a national search and were recommended to the chancellor by a screening committee chaired by Roland Barden, president of Moorhead State University.

MnSCU, a system of community colleges, state universities and technical colleges, serves more than 166,000 students at 62 campuses around the state.