Posted: September 17, 1996

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Three candidates for the presidency of Itasca Community College in Grand Rapids have been invited to participate in campus forums and interviews on Thursday, September 19.

The college community is invited to attend open forums for the candidates. In addition, the candidates will be interviewed by a 10-member search committee.

The search committee, composed of campus representatives and community members, selected the candidates for campus interviews. After the interviews the committee will decide which of the candidates to forward to MnSCU Chancellor Judith Eaton for her consideration.

Eaton will make a final recommendation to the MnSCU Board of Trustees, which is expected to select a president at its meeting on October 16.

Lawrence Dukes, the former president of Itasca Community College, accepted a position as president of Southern State Community College in Hillsboro, Ohio, on March 1, 1995.

The candidates and times of their open forums are:

Joseph M. Sertich Jr. (8:30 a.m.) -- Sertich is vice president of Hibbing Community College, a Technical and Community College. He served as president of Range Technical College-Hibbing from 1995 until this past summer when the college consolidated with Hibbing Community College. He served as vice president/CEO of the technical college campus from 1992 to 1995. Before the creation of Range Technical College, he served at Hibbing Technical College as vice president from 1990 to 1992 and safety and health training coordinator from 1979 to 1990. He taught mine safety and health at the college from 1979 to 1990. He was a teacher in the Hudson, Wisconsin, schools from 1972 to 1979. Sertich holds an Ed.D. in educational policy and administration from the University of Minnesota, an M.S. in educational administration from Bemidji State University and a B.S. in education from Bemidji State.
James C. Clarke (10:00 a.m.) -- Clarke has served as interim executive dean and campus CEO of Itasca Community College since March 1995. He served as dean of instruction at the college from 1988 to 1995 and coordinator of the college's music program from 1977 to 1987. He was director of the North Central Steering Committee and Self-Study for Arrowhead Community Colleges during 1987-88. Clarke also has served as director of the Young Artists Series of Grand Rapids (1978-90), founder and artistic director of the Grand Rapids Area Community Choirs (1980-88) and executive director (part time) of the Itasca Orchestral Society (1985-88). Between 1964 and 1988 he held teaching positions in music at Itasca Community College, the University of Minnesota, Augustana College (South Dakota), Southwest State University, Hamline University and the University of Wisconsin-River Falls. He holds a Ph.D. in musicology from the University of Minnesota, an M.F.A. in piano from the University of Minnesota and a B.A. in music from the University of North Dakota.
Jane M. Harmon (12:30 p.m.) -- Harmon has been dean of Hibbing Community College (now Hibbing Community College, a Technical and Community College) since 1993, serving as chief academic and student support administrator. From 1983 to 1993 she was as instructor and co-coordinator of the Developmental Education/Reading and Study Skills Department at Lakewood Community College in White Bear Lake. Previously, Harmon was coordinator of the Classroom Research Project for the Minnesota Community College System (1990-91), director of the Upward Bound Project at Bemidji State University (1979-82), coordinator of the reading program at Bemidji High School (1976-79) and a teacher at the Pine Point Community School on the White Earth Indian Reservation (1971-73). She was co-owner of the Sundog Outdoor Education Center in Bemidji from 1973 to 1981. Harmon holds a Ph.D. in educational administration from the University of Texas at Austin, an M.S. in education from Bemidji State University and a B.S. in elementary education/English from Moorhead State University.

Patrick Johns, president of Anoka-Ramsey Community College, has served as chair of the presidential search committee. Michael Johnson, dean of students at Itasca Community College, has been campus liaison for the search.

Itasca Community College is a member institution of MnSCU, a system of community colleges, technical colleges and state universities serving more than 151,500 students at campuses in 46 communities around the state.