Posted: May 20, 2004

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Faculty and staff of six colleges and universities received awards for outstanding achievement from the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees at their May meeting. The second annual academic and student affairs awards were presented in four categories to honor excellent leadership, curriculum planning, academic innovation and collaboration at colleges and universities across the system.

"As a unified system, we can celebrate the unique successes we have and then share what is learned from them," said Trustee Will Antell, chair of the board's educational policy committee. "It's a great advantage to be able to learn from our colleagues, and build on the kinds of programs, partnerships and systems that work."

Two awards were granted for the outstanding academic and student affairs administrator. This award is made to college or university administrators who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and made significant contributions to the development of academic or student affairs programming at their institution.

The winners:

  • Peggy Kennedy, vice-president of academic affairs and student development at Saint Paul College;
  • The eight members of Deans Council of Winona State University Carol Anderson, dean of education; Christine Clements, associate vice-president for academic affairs and dean of library and information services; Timothy Gaspar, dean of nursing and health sciences; Kenneth Gorman, dean of business; Joe Gow, dean of liberal arts; Nancy Jannik, dean of science and engineering; Russell Lohmann, director of the WSU Rochester Center; and Stephen M. Richardson, vice-president for academic affairs.

Three programs received the award of excellence in curriculum programming. This recognition was awarded to programs that demonstrate a high rate of employment, transfer or enrollment in graduate school after graduation; make effective use of technology; generate extramural support or funding; involve collaboration with other college or university departments, employers or community members; and reach out to diverse subgroups.

The winners:

  • Inver Hills Community College, Adult Success through Accelerated Programs;
  • Minnesota State University, Mankato, The College of Business Technology Initiative; and
  • Minneapolis Community and Technical College, The Nursing Pathway Program.

Two programs were recognized for innovation in student affairs programming. This award recognizes new ideas, methods or techniques that result in improved activities, services or management for a college or university community; and are adaptable to other institutions.

The winners:

  • Minnesota State University, Mankato, The Learning Communities Program; and
  • Century College, Student Success Day.

Two partnerships received awards for success in reflecting the changing nature of the education landscape through use and integration of new technologies, creative approaches to critical workforce needs and better preparation of under-represented students or newly enrolled students to succeed in their higher education experience.

The winners:

  • Health Careers Institute, Minneapolis Community and Technical College and their collaboration with the Phillips Partnership, Abbott Northwestern Hospital, Children's Hospitals and Clinics, and Hennepin County Medical Center;
  • Taking Steps to Better Health/Tomando Pasos Para Mejor Salud, Minnesota State University, Mankato, collaboration with Saladundo Salud, Community Hospital
    and the Madelia Clinic/Mayo Health System.