Posted: December 1, 2004

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Originally released by the Midwestern Higher Education Compact:

Minneapolis - Chancellor James H. McCormick of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System has been elected by his colleagues in the Midwest United States as Chair of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC).

"I am very honored to be elected chair of the Compact," said McCormick. "I look forward to working with all members to produce significant benefits for Midwestern higher education and the students it serves throughout the region."

The statutorily created Compact consists of ten member states and serves Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio and Wisconsin. The Compact, founded in 1991, sponsors a variety of collaborative programs for cost savings; student access and policy research. The Compact is directed through its governing body of five commissioners from each state consisting of legislators, governor's representatives and higher education leaders. MHEC operates with a small staff located in Minneapolis and is directed by President Larry Isaak.

MHEC's ten-state area includes over 850 institutions that are able to use its programs. State and local governments are also able to take advantage of some of the Compact's programs. MHEC's programs saved Minnesota colleges and universities, state and local governments and students over $2.3 million this past year. The MHEC states saved over $27.6 million.

McCormick was named chancellor of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system in December 2000, by the Board of Trustees, and began his term as leader of the system of 34 higher education institutions in July 2001. Before coming to Minnesota, McCormick was the founding chancellor of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education, where he served as the system's chief executive for 18 years.

McCormick's colleagues also serving as Minnesota Commissioners are William Hogan, University of Minnesota Board of Regents; David Laird, Minnesota Private College Council; Senator Sandra Pappas; and Representative Doug Stang. Serving as alternate Commissioners are: Representative Lyndon R. Carlson and Susan Heegaard, Minnesota Higher Education Services Office.

For more information about the Compact, please visit