Posted: April 5, 2006

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

News Release from the Legislative Coordinating Commission Trustee Candidate Advisory Council

The Board of Trustees Candidate Advisory Council voted today to recommend 12 candidates to Governor Pawlenty for appointment to the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities.

Four seats on the Board of Trustees have terms that expire June 30, 2006; one in the 5th congressional district, one in the 6th congressional district, and two at-large.

Over the past two months, members of the Trustee Candidate Advisory Council have recruited, screened, and interviewed candidates. Thirty-five applications were received before the February 17th deadline. These applications were carefully reviewed and the council selected 18 applicants for interviews. Of those interviewed, council members voted to recommend the following 12 candidates to the Governor for appointment to the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees:

  • Lee Antell
  • Joan Barrett-Volkmuth
  • Robert Brown
  • Carl Cummins
  • Jack Geller
  • Mary Hershberger Thun
  • Obie Kipper, Jr.
  • Maureen Steinwall
  • Louise Sundin
  • Charles Thiss
  • Frederick Tyler
  • James Van Houten

In 1991, the Legislature merged all Minnesota public higher education institutions, except the University of Minnesota, into what is now known as the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.

In 1995, the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees assumed responsibility for the governance of the merged system. The Board of Trustees oversees 32 campuses and 370,000 students. The Governor appoints one trustee from each of Minnesota's eight congressional districts and seven at-large positions, including three student trustees. Trustees are appointed for six-year terms.