Posted: March 13, 2008

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

News release from the Trustee Candidate Advisory Council

Twenty-one candidates for the four vacancies on the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees were selected to be interviewed by the Trustee Candidate Advisory Council (TCAC) at their meeting on March 7, 2008. The TCAC announced the vacancies in January 2008, and received a total of 41 applications before the February 28th deadline.

In 1991, the Legislature merged all Minnesota public higher education institutions, except the University of Minnesota, into what is known as the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system. In 1995, the Board of Trustees assumed responsibility for the governance of the merged system.

The Board of Trustees oversees administration of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system, which serves approximately 382,000 students annually. The governor appoints one trustee from each of Minnesota's eight congressional districts and seven at-large trustees, including three student trustees. The TCAC is a 24-member advisory council established by the Legislature to recruit, screen, and recommend candidates to the governor.

Interviews will be held April 2, 3, and 4. The positions designated to be filled are two at-large, one in the fourth congressional district, and one in the seventh congressional district. The terms of board members are six years.

Following are the names of the candidates to be interviewed by the TCAC.

  • Dean Anderson
  • Bernice Belgarde
  • Joseph Bouvette
  • Francis Bradley
  • Robert Brown
  • Cheryl Dickson
  • Jon Eckhoff
  • Margaret Gruenes
  • Clarence Hightower
  • Patricia Johnson
  • Patricia Krueger
  • Charles Kyte
  • Charles MacLean
  • Dennis Miller
  • Deborah Montgomery
  • David Paskach
  • Louise Sundin
  • Raymond Thron
  • Joseph Vene
  • Jerry Williams
  • John Zanmiller