Posted: September 28, 2015

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

ST. PAUL, Minn., Sept. 28, 2015 – Every one of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities across the state is waiving application fees for all or part of College Knowledge Month. Celebrated in October, College Knowledge Month is a statewide effort between high schools and postsecondary institutions to engage, inform and support students as they enter into the college application process.

“Every day, our colleges and universities deliver the highest value, most affordable higher education option in the state of Minnesota,” said Steven Rosenstone, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities chancellor. “In keeping with this commitment, we are pleased to waive application fees as part of College Knowledge Month and look forward to partnering with high schools as they encourage students to explore the many ways higher education offers a path to a brighter future.”

Throughout the month and around the state, staff from all the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities will be volunteering at high school events to assist students with applications and sharing information about the college experience.

While most Minnesota State Colleges and Universities are waiving application fees from October 26 – 30, others – denoted in the list below with an asterisk – have chosen to waive fees for the entire month. And, there are colleges and universities that never charge a fee; those are denoted in the list below with two asterisks.  Application fees for qualified low-income students are always waived at all Minnesota State Colleges and Universities.


Alexandria Technical and Community College
Anoka Technical College**
Anoka-Ramsey Community College**
Central Lakes College**
Century College
Dakota County Technical College
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
Hennepin Technical College**
Hibbing Community College
Inver Hills Community College**
Itasca Community College**
Lake Superior College
Mesabi Range College**
Minneapolis Community and Technical College
Minnesota State Community and Technical College
Minnesota State College - Southeast Technical
Minnesota West Community and Technical College
Normandale Community College
North Hennepin Community College
Northland Community and Technical College (fee waived for high school seniors only)
Northwest Technical College
Pine Technical and Community College**
Rainy River Community College**
Ridgewater College*
Riverland Community College
Rochester Community and Technical College**
St. Cloud Technical and Community College*
Saint Paul College**
South Central College
Vermilion Community College


Bemidji State University
Metropolitan State University**
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University Moorhead
Southwest Minnesota State University
St. Cloud State University*
Winona State University
For more information, contact any of these Minnesota State Colleges and Universities.


The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities include 30 community and technical colleges and seven state universities serving more than 400,000 students. It is the fifth-largest higher education system in the United States.