Posted: November 16, 2016

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Minnesota State Universities Guarantee Admission and Credit Transfer to Minnesota State Associate’s Degree Grads
Students must complete the Minnesota Transfer Curriculum

ST. PAUL, Minn., Nov. 16, 2016 – Under a new program announced today by Minnesota State, students who complete the Minnesota Transfer Curriculum and earn a minimum 2.0 GPA* in an Associate of Arts (AA) degree from any Minnesota State college are guaranteed admission to every one of the seven Minnesota State universities with junior year status. This new collaboration ensures that students can seamlessly and reliably transfer from Minnesota State colleges to Minnesota State universities. 

“Minnesota State provides an extraordinary education that is the most affordable and accessible option in the state,” said Virginia Arthur, president of Metropolitan State University. “With this guarantee, students can take full advantage of the significant cost savings our colleges and universities offer, graduate with significantly less debt than their peers, and emerge with the skills and knowledge needed to be prepared for the jobs of the future, provide for their families and contribute to their community and to the state’s economy.”

This guarantee saves students money because they can take advantage of the lower tuition rates at Minnesota State colleges for their freshman and sophomore years, then transfer to a Minnesota State university to complete their bachelor’s degree. Tuition and fees at a Minnesota State college are significantly lower – between one-half and one-tenth the cost -- of other higher education options within the state.  

“This guarantee is something that only Minnesota State can offer,” said Anne Blackhurst, president of Minnesota State University Moorhead. “In addition to our overall quality and affordability, it sets our state colleges and universities apart from other higher education options in Minnesota – both public and private. Only we can make this guarantee because we are a collaborative system focused on serving the needs of students and the state of Minnesota.”

While students who complete the Minnesota Transfer Curriculum and earn an Associate of Arts (AA) degree from any of the 26 Minnesota State community colleges are guaranteed admission and full credit transfer to any of the seven Minnesota State universities, this collaboration does not guarantee admittance to specific majors. Academic requirements for major degree programs at state universities vary. For this reason, students considering credit transfer should discuss their academic goals with an advisor at the state university they wish to attend. 

The 26 colleges of Minnesota State where students can complete the Minnesota Transfer Curriculum and earn an AA degree include:

Alexandria Technical and Community College
Anoka-Ramsey Community College
Central Lakes College
Century College
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
Hibbing Community College
Inver Hills Community College
Itasca Community College
Lake Superior College
Mesabi Range College
Minneapolis Community and Technical College
Minnesota State Community and Technical College
Minnesota State College Southeast
Minnesota West Community and Technical College
Normandale Community College
North Hennepin Community College
Northland Community and Technical College
Pine Technical and Community College
Rainy River Community College
Ridgewater College
Riverland Community College
Rochester Community and Technical College
St. Cloud Technical and Community College
Saint Paul College
South Central College
Vermilion Community College

The seven universities of Minnesota State that guarantee admittance from the state colleges listed above include:

Bemidji State University
Metropolitan State University
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University Moorhead
Southwest Minnesota State University
St. Cloud State University
Winona State University*

*Winona State University requires a minimum 2.4 GPA for AA degrees to be accepted.


Minnesota State, formerly known as Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, includes 30 community and technical colleges and seven state universities serving approximately 400,000 students. It is the fifth-largest higher education system in the United States.