Skip to content

Minnesota State Chancellor: Devinder Malhotra

Welcome to Minnesota State –  the state’s largest provider of higher education – a system of 37 vibrant colleges and universities. I am humbled and honored to serve as chancellor at a time when communities across Minnesota need our colleges and universities more than ever.

Minnesota State is committed to inclusive excellence and ensuring our students receive an extraordinary, affordable, and accessible education.  We are not only the largest, but the most diverse higher education provider in the State of Minnesota. Located within 47 distinctive communities and woven into the economic, social, and cultural fabric of Minnesota, our colleges and universities are united in achieving Equity 2030.  

A bold strategic vision, Equity 2030 aims to close the educational equity gaps across race and ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and geographic location in the next ten years.  It is an  ambitious goal and one we embrace with a renewed sense of urgency.  It will require cohesive and coordinated approaches across our schools, cultural change and innovation, and, most importantly, leadership with a steadfast focus to support all our students. While there is much to do – and we are a work in progress – I am inspired by the equity-minded and anti-racist practices and efforts already underway on our campuses. 

We know that when all students succeed, our communities and economy prosper. With Minnesota’s rapidly changing demographics, increasingly becoming more multicultural and multiethnic, Minnesota State is well poised to provide Minnesota the talent it needs for its social and economic vibrancy.

We recognize employers will increasingly need to draw workers with postsecondary credentials from diverse and marginalized communities, communities that have historically had a low proportion of their population with higher education credentials.  This dilemma can only be resolved by enhancing access to higher education, creating personalized educational paths, and most importantly, closing the educational equity gaps.  Hence, across our system and 54 campuses, we believe Equity 2030 is not only a moral and social imperative, but also an economic one.

Amid an era of uncertainty, I am certain we will continue to innovate, collaborate, and treat each other with compassion, as we empower and offer students the transformative education they deserve to pursue their dreams and goals.  I encourage you to explore our website to learn more.

~ Devinder Malhotra

For media requests and interviews, please email Director of Communications and Media Doug.Anderson@MinnState.edu.

To invite the chancellor to attend or speak at an event, please complete and submit an Appearance Request Form.

Photo of Ron Anderson


Ron Anderson
Senior Vice Chancellor for
Academic and Student Affairs
651‐201‐1498
Ron.Anderson@MinnState.edu



KariCampbell.jpg



Kari Campbell

Interim Board Director
651‐201‐1705
Kari.Campbell@MinnState.edu




Photo of Gary Cunningham

 

Gary Cunningham
General Counsel
651‐201‐1818
Gary.Cunningham@MinnState.edu




Photo of Eric Davis

 

Eric Davis
Vice Chancellor of Human Resources
651‐201‐1827
Eric.Davis@MinnState.edu

 

Photo of Eric Davis

 

Noelle Hawton
Chief Marketing and
Communications Officer
651‐201‐1801
Noelle.Hawton@MinnState.edu

 

Photo of Bill Maki

 

Bill Maki
Vice Chancellor for
Finance and Facilities
651‐201‐1731
William.Maki@MinnState.edu

 


  Omann_Bernie_2019.JPG

Bernie Omann
Special Assistant to the Chancellor
Government Relations
651-201-1759
Bernie.omann@minnstate.edu


 

Photo of Ramon Padilla, Jr.

 

Ramon Padilla, Jr.
Vice Chancellor for
Information Technology Services
651‐201‐1454
Ramon.Padilla@MinnState.edu


 

image-coming-soon.jpg

 

Andriel Dees
Interim Chief Diversity Officer
651-201-1484
andriel.dees@minnstate.edu



 

 Photo of Jaime Simonsen


Jaime Simonsen

Chief of Staff
651‐201‐1669
Jaime.Simonsen@MinnState.edu


 

Photo of Eric Wion



Eric Wion
Executive Director
Internal Audit
651‐201‐1798
Eric.Wion@MinnState.edu

Devinder Malhotra
Chancellor
651-201-1696
Chancellor@MinnState.edu

Jaime Simonsen
Chief of Staff
651-201-1669
Jaime.Simonsen@MinnState.edu

Pa Yang
Senior Executive Assistant
651-201-1696
Pa.Yang@MinnState.edu

Connect with Chancellor Devinder Malhotra at linkedin.com/in/devinder-malhotra and Twitter at @MinnStateChD.

What's New?