2009 awards for excellence in management announced by MnSCU

Posted: February 2, 2010

Contact: Doug Anderson, doug.anderson@MinnState.edu, 651-201-1426

Awards recognizing excellence in financial and facilities management leadership and teamwork at the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities were presented recently at the system’s Chief Financial and Facilities Officers meeting in Bloomington.

The awards program, which began in 1997, publicly recognizes the outstanding contributions of the system’s college and university employees who work in finance and facilities management.

“We are proud that we have so many outstanding employees who day in and day out contribute their best for students and the people of Minnesota,” said Laura King, the system’s vice chancellor and chief financial officer. “Their focus on making the best use of campus resources is more important than ever with declining state revenues.”

The award winners were selected from nominations made by presidents and college and university leadership. The awards and their recipients are:

Excellence in Financial Management 2009 awards are given for significant contributions to increased efficiency and effectiveness of finances and administrative services throughout the institution. This year’s winners are:

Bemidji State University; Dakota County Technical College; Hennepin Technical College; Minneapolis Community and Technical College; Minnesota State Community and Technical College; Minnesota State University, Mankato; North Hennepin Community College; Ridgewater College; Riverland Community College; St. Cloud State University; St. Cloud Technical and Community College; and Winona State University.

Excellence in Facilities Management awards are given for successful and timely completion of capital improvement and repair projects, increased efficiency and effectiveness of space use throughout the institution, and customer service excellence to students, staff and faculty. This year’s winners are Minnesota State University, Mankato; Minnesota State University Moorhead; Riverland Community College; and Winona State University.

Chancellor’s Award is given to an individual who demonstrated leadership, outstanding service to staff, students and the system; provided innovative solutions, and championed change and non-traditional methods. The winner is Patrick Nordick, chief finance officer, Minnesota State Community and Technical College.

Outstanding Service awards are given to individuals who demonstrated outstanding contributions toward furthering professionalism in financial management. The winners are Jean Hollaar of Minnesota State University Moorhead and Michael Noble-Olson of Minneapolis Community and Technical College.