Three semifinalists named for presidency of Lake Superior College

Posted: April 8, 2010

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

The names of three semifinalists for president of Lake Superior College in Duluth have been submitted to James H. McCormick, chancellor of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system. The semifinalists are Patrick Johns, George Karling and Anne Temte.

The semifinalists were recommended by a search committee chaired by Donald Supalla, president of Rochester Community and Technical College.

Patrick Johns has been president of Anoka-Ramsey Community College in Coon Rapids and Cambridge since 1991. Previously, he served as interim president, executive dean and acting financial aid director at the college. He has been dean of academic affairs at Minnesota West Community and Technical College; dean at Riverland Community College; and financial aid director, counselor, recruitment coordinator and an adjunct instructor at Mesabi Range Community and Technical College. He also was assistant men’s basketball coach at the University of Minnesota Duluth. He holds bachelor’s degrees in history and psychology from the University of Minnesota Duluth, a master’s degree in guidance and counseling from the University of Wisconsin-Superior and a doctorate in educational administration and adult and higher education from the University of South Dakota.

George Karling has been superintendent of the Three Lakes School District in Wisconsin since 1989. Previously, he was superintendent and prekindergarten-12 principal of the Solon Springs School District in Wisconsin. He also has practiced law in Wisconsin and Michigan, served as assistant professor of Northland College in Ashland, Wis., and was a teacher in the Watersmeet School District in Michigan. He holds an associate degree in math and history from Gogebic Community College in Michigan; a bachelor’s degree in math and physical education and a master’s degree in counseling and administration, both from Northern Michigan University; a law degree from Nova Southeastern University in Florida; an Ed.S. in educational leadership from University of Wisconsin-Superior and a Ph.D. in educational leadership and policy analysis from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Anne Temte has been president of Northland Community and Technical College in Thief River Falls and East Grand Forks since 2006. Previously, she was executive director of business training and community development at Wenatchee Valley College in Washington. She also has been vice president of instruction and student development and director of personnel and affirmative action at Wenatchee Valley College and dean of Mesabi Range Community and Technical College in Virginia, Minn.; a biology faculty member at Luther College in Iowa; personnel director at Treasure Valley Community College in Oregon; and vice president of human resources at the Community College of Spokane. She holds a Ph.D. in college student services administration from Oregon State University, a master's degree in biology from Utah State University and a bachelor's degree in biology from Luther College.

The new president will replace Kathleen Nelson, who is retiring. The chancellor, along with one to three members of the Board of Trustees and others, will conduct interviews with the semifinalists. McCormick will make a recommendation to the Board of Trustees, which is expected to act on the recommendation at an April 21 meeting.