Three semifinalists named for presidency of Anoka-Ramsey Community College and Anoka Technical College

Posted: April 1, 2011

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Two colleges will be aligned under one president this fall

The names of three semifinalists for president of Anoka-Ramsey Community College and Anoka Technical College have been submitted to James H. McCormick, chancellor of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system. The semifinalists are Ron Erickson, Alex Kajstura and Constance Mierendorf.

The semifinalists were recommended by a search committee chaired by Keith Stover, president of South Central College. Anoka-Ramsey Community College and Anoka Technical College will be aligned under one president this fall to better serve students in the northern suburbs of the Twin Cities. With the realignment, each college will retain its own name, mission and accreditation.

Ron Erickson is president and chief executive officer of Hocking College in Ohio. Previously, he was vice president of academic affairs and institutional planning, and dean of design, health and human services at Dakota County Technical College; dean for academic affairs at Adirondack Community College in New York; dean of instruction and chief academic officer at Northeast Higher Education District’s Rainy River Community College; associate director of the University of Minnesota’s Office of Educational Accountability; research associate and lecturer at the university’s National Center on Educational Outcomes; program director of Midway Training in St. Paul; specific learning disabilities teacher at Venice Elementary School and instructor and curriculum coordinator at Happiness House Rehabilitation Center, both in Florida. He holds an associate degree from Rainy River Community College, a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Gustavus Adolphus College, a master’s degree in exceptional child education from the University of South Florida and a Ph.D. in educational policy and administration from the University of Minnesota.

Alex Kajstura is provost of the Norfolk campus of Tidewater Community College in Virginia. Previously, he was provost of the Deland campus and Deltona Center, and dean of the School of Business and Technologies at Daytona Beach Community College in Florida; associate dean of the division of business and engineering, and division chair of science and engineering at Palm Beach Community College; division director of Texas State Technical College and a chemistry and physics instructor at Northeast Texas Community College. He has a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Silesian University in Poland, a master’s degree in organic chemistry from Texas Tech University, a master’s degree in business administration from LeTourneau University in Texas and a Ph.D. in higher education administration specializing in community colleges from Southern Illinois University.

Constance Mierendorf is a senior advisor at Hudson County Community College in New Jersey. Previously, she was president of Sussex County Community College in New Jersey, senior vice president for academic affairs at Raritan Valley Community College in New Jersey, dean of academic affairs at Santa Fe Community College, project administrator at Mierendorf Productions, a faculty member at Minneapolis Community and Technical College and the University of Minnesota; and a corporate trainer and facilitator. She holds a bachelor’s degree, a master’s degree and a Ph.D., all in English, from the University of Nebraska.

The new president will replace Jessica Stumpf, interim president of Anoka-Ramsey Community College and Shari Olson, interim president of Anoka Technical College.

The chancellor, along with one to three members of the Board of Trustees and others, will conduct interviews with the semifinalists. McCormick will make a recommendation to the Board of Trustees, which is expected to act on the recommendation at its April 20 meeting.