Two former MnSCU college presidents receive emeritus status

Posted: July 20, 2011

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Former presidents of Century and Saint Paul colleges honored

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees today awarded emeritus status to two former Minnesota State Colleges and Universities presidents – Donovan Schwichtenberg of Saint Paul College and Larry Litecky of Century College.

These presidents have served their institutions and the system in an exemplary manner, said Scott Thiss, chair of the Board of Trustees. “Each of them can be proud of the accomplishments during their tenure at their colleges,” Thiss said. Both presidents left their positions June 30.

“Larry Litecky has made significant contributions to the development of Century College,” McCormick said. “As president, Larry led the college through a period of considerable growth. He did so with vision, innovation, creativity and attention to quality improvement.

“As president of Saint Paul College, Donovan Schwichtenberg truly led the college through a period of remarkable change,” McCormick said. “His steady, patient, intelligent leadership style earned him praise from all parts of the college community and those outside of it. And we all know that such praise went beyond our state with this year's ranking of Saint Paul College as first in the country.”

Emeritus status is intended as a special honor for system employees who have served with great distinction.

Also, a president and former president were recognized for their length of service. Patrick Johns, president of Lake Superior College in Duluth has served in various positions in the system for 20 years, and David Danahar, who retired June 30 as president of Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall, served as president for 10 years.