Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Waive Application Fees for College Knowledge Month

Posted: September 26, 2014

Contact: Doug Anderson, doug.anderson@MinnState.edu, 651-201-1426

St. Paul, Minn., September 26, 2014 – For a limited time, college and university application fees will be waived throughout Minnesota State Colleges and Universities in recognition of “College Knowledge Month,” a statewide effort to provide every graduating high school senior, especially underrepresented students, with the opportunity to apply to college.

“Our colleges and universities are committed to making sure every Minnesotan has access to an extraordinary education,” said Steven Rosenstone, MnSCU chancellor. “College Knowledge Month is a wonderful opportunity for us to encourage more high school seniors to apply for college. It gives our colleges and universities an opportunity to show students who might otherwise think college is beyond their reach that resources are available to help them pay for higher education and complete their degree.”

During College Knowledge Month, high schools and postsecondary institutions work together to engage, inform and support students as they enter into the college application process. For example, staff from MnSCU colleges and universities attend events at high schools, assist students with completing applications, and share information about the college experience.

The culmination of College Knowledge Month is a period in which colleges and universities across the state waive application fees. This year, many colleges and universities are waiving their application fees for the week of October 27-31. In addition, some colleges and universities have waived their application fees for the entire month of October, and some do not charge an application fee at all. Application fees for qualified low-income students are always waived at all MnSCU colleges and universities.


Alexandria Technical & Community College
Anoka-Ramsey Community College*
Anoka Technical College*
Central Lakes College
Century College
Dakota County Technical College
Fond du Lac Tribal & Community College**
Hennepin Technical College*
Hibbing Community College
Inver Hills Community College*
Itasca Community College*
Lake Superior College
Mesabi Range College
Minneapolis Community & Technical College
Minnesota State College - Southeast Technical
Minnesota West Community & Technical College
Normandale Community College
North Hennepin Community College
Northland Community & Technical College
Northwest Technical College
Pine Technical & Community College*
Rainy River Community College*
Riverland Community College
Rochester Community and Technical College*
St. Cloud Technical & Community College
Saint Paul College*
South Central College
Vermilion Community College


Bemidji State University
Metropolitan State University*
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University Moorhead
Southwest Minnesota State University
St. Cloud State University**
Winona State University

* Does not charge an application fee.
** Waiving application fee entire month of October.

For more information, contact any of these MnSCU colleges and universities.

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities include 24 two-year community, technical, and comprehensive colleges and seven state universities serving more than 430,000 students. It is the fifth-largest higher education system of its kind in the United States.