Sharon Pierce Named President of Minneapolis Community and Technology College

Posted: March 16, 2016

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

ST. PAUL, Minn., March 16, 2016 – The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees today named Sharon Pierce president of Minneapolis Community and Technical College (MCTC). The appointment becomes effective July 1, 2016.

Sharon Pierce

“Throughout her outstanding career, Sharon Pierce has been dedicated to urban education and the mission of community and technical colleges,” said Steven Rosenstone, chancellor of Minnesota State Colleges and Universities. “Dr. Pierce is committed to students and their success. She will ensure that MCTC continues to be a great partner with the public schools, businesses, and community organizations across the city of Minneapolis.”

Pierce has served Howard Community College (Md.) as the vice president for academic affairs since 2010; as chair of the Health Sciences Division from 2005 to 2010; as director of the nursing education program from 2001 to 2006; as the nursing course leader from 1993 to 2001; and she was on the nursing faculty from 1990 to 2010. She also served as a practicing nurse from 1978 to 1990. She holds a bachelor’s degree and a master’s from the University of Maryland and a doctorate from Morgan State University (MD).

Pierce will succeed Avelino Mills-Novoa who has been serving as interim president since 2014.


Minneapolis Community and Technical College is a public two-year college with a long history of vocational education and open enrollment. The college serves nearly 13,000 students with 120 programs in liberal arts, career, and technical fields, and is an active partner in initiatives designed to strengthen the social, economic, and cultural vitality of the Twin Cities metropolitan area. The beautiful 21-acre campus is located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and includes a state-of-the-art library, science center, student health clinic, student center, and outdoor plaza connected to Loring Park.

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities include 30 community and technical colleges and seven state universities serving approximately 400,000 students. It is the fifth-largest higher education system in the United States.