Colleges and Universities of Minnesota State Waive Application Fees During College Knowledge Month

Posted: September 25, 2017

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

ST. PAUL, Minn., September 25, 2017 – In support of a statewide initiative to encourage students to explore their higher education options, the colleges and universities of Minnesota State are supporting College Knowledge Month by waiving application fees for all or part of October.

“Minnesota’s state colleges and universities are the most affordable and accessible higher education option in the state,” said Interim Chancellor Devinder Malhotra. “There has never been a better time for students to explore the many school and program choices offered by Minnesota State campuses. I encourage all high school seniors, and anyone else considering how education can shape their future, to contact our colleges and universities to learn more about preparing for and embarking on their transformational path.”

All Minnesota State colleges and universities are waiving application fees from October 23 – 27. Some – denoted in the list below with an asterisk – have chosen to waive fees for the entire month. In addition, there are colleges and universities that never charge a fee (denoted in the list below with two asterisks). Application fees for qualified low-income students and active duty military service members deployed overseas are always waived at all Minnesota State colleges and universities.

If prompted for a promo code, applicants should use “CKM2017.”

Alexandria Technical and Community College*
Anoka Technical College**
Anoka-Ramsey Community College**
Central Lakes College**
Century College
Dakota County Technical College
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College*
Hennepin Technical College**
Hibbing Community College
Inver Hills Community College
Itasca Community College
Lake Superior College
Mesabi Range College
Minneapolis Community and Technical College*
Minnesota State Community and Technical College
Minnesota State College Southeast
Minnesota West Community and Technical College
Normandale Community College
North Hennepin Community College
Northland Community and Technical College
Northwest Technical College*
Pine Technical and Community College**
Rainy River Community College
Ridgewater College*
Riverland Community College**
Rochester Community and Technical College**
St. Cloud Technical and Community College*
Saint Paul College**
South Central College**
Vermilion Community College

Bemidji State University*
Metropolitan State University**
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University Moorhead
Southwest Minnesota State University
St. Cloud State University
Winona State University

* Colleges and universities waiving fees for all of October

** Colleges and universities that never charge an application fee


Minnesota State includes 30 community and technical colleges and seven state universities serving approximately 375,000 students. It is the fourth-largest system of two-year colleges and four-year universities in the United States.