Finalists Named for President of Minnesota State Community and Technical College

Posted: March 22, 2018

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Campus visits scheduled for March 27, 28, and 29

ST. PAUL, Minn., March 22, 2018 – Minnesota State has named the finalists who are under consideration to become the next president of Minnesota State Community and Technical College (M State). The candidates are Carrie Brimhall and Christopher Reber.

The candidates were recommended by a search advisory committee comprised of students, faculty, staff, and community leaders and chaired by Terry Gaalswyk, president of Minnesota West Community and Technical College. The candidates are scheduled to visit the M State campuses between March 27 and 29. The campus visits present an opportunity for students, faculty, staff, and members of the community to meet and offer feedback on each of the candidates. Details of the campus visits and the process for providing feedback are available at the M State Presidential Search web page.

Carrie Brimhall

Carrie Brimhall has served M State since 1998 in several capacities including her current role as chief academic officer/vice president of Academic Affairs since 2014, associate vice president of Academic and Student affairs from 2012 to 2014, interim provost from 2011 to 2012, dean of enrollment from 2008 to 2011, and director(s) of admissions, housing, recruitment, and retention from 1998 to 2008. She holds an associate degree from M State, a bachelor’s degree from Concordia College (Minn.), and a master’s and a doctorate from Capella University (Minn.). She is scheduled to visit the M State campuses in Fergus Falls and Wadena on March 27, and the M State campuses in Detroit Lakes and Moorhead on March 28.

Christopher Reber

Christopher Reber has served as president of the Community College of Beaver County (Pa.) since 2014. Previously, he served Venango College of Clarion University as executive dean from 2002 to 2014; the Pennsylvania State University at Erie, The Behrend College as associate provost for Advancement and University Relations from 1998 to 2002, as dean of Student Affairs and affiliate assistant professor of education from 1987 to 1998, and as assistant dean of Student Affairs from 1981 to 1984; and Lakeland Community College (Ohio) as director, Human Resource Development Division from 1985 to 1987 and as director of lifelong learning from 1984 to 1985. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Dickinson College (Pa.), a master’s degree from Bowling Green State University (Ohio), and a doctorate from the University of Pittsburgh. He is scheduled to visit the M State campuses in Fergus Falls and Wadena on March 28, and the M State campuses in Detroit Lakes and Moorhead on March 29.

The Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities is expected to act on Chancellor Devinder Malhotra’s recommendation of a final candidate at its April 18 meeting. The new president is expected to begin July 1, 2018.


M State is a two-year community and technical college that serves more than 8,000 students in credit courses each year in 70 career and transfer degree programs at its four campuses in Detroit Lakes, Fergus Falls, Moorhead and Wadena, and online, and is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. By partnering with communities, the college also provides workforce development services and other responsive training programs.

Minnesota State includes 30 community and technical colleges and seven state universities serving approximately 375,000 students. It is the fourth-largest system of two-year colleges and four-year universities in the United States.