Colleges and Universities of Minnesota State to Waive Application Fees for College Knowledge Month

Posted: September 24, 2018

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

ST. PAUL, Minn., Sept. 10, 2018 – In honor of College Knowledge Month, students applying to any of the 30 colleges or seven universities of Minnesota State can skip the application fee for all or part of the month of October 2018. 

“Minnesota State offers powerful educational opportunities to anyone hoping to build a brighter future,” said Devinder Malhotra, chancellor of Minnesota State. “College Knowledge Month is an especially good time to prepare for the application process and apply for admission to any of our colleges and universities -- free of charge. These are key first steps on a path to outstanding programs that prepare our students for a career and for lifelong learning.” 

All Minnesota State colleges and universities are waiving application fees from October 22 – 26. Some – denoted in the list below with an asterisk – have chosen to waive fees for the entire month of October. In addition, there are colleges and universities that never charge a fee – denoted in the list below with two asterisks. Application fees for qualified low-income students and active duty military service members deployed overseas are always waived at every Minnesota State college and university.

If prompted for a promo code, applicants should use “CKM2018.” 

For more information, contact any of the Minnesota State colleges or universities, or visit

Alexandria Technical and Community College*
Anoka Technical College**
Anoka-Ramsey Community College**
Central Lakes College**
Century College
Dakota County Technical College
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College*
Hennepin Technical College*
Hibbing Community College
Inver Hills Community College
Itasca Community College
Lake Superior College*
Mesabi Range College*
Minneapolis College
Minnesota State College Southeast
Minnesota State Community and Technical College (waiving fees October 22 – 28)
Minnesota West Community and Technical College*
Normandale Community College
North Hennepin Community College
Northland Community and Technical College
Northwest Technical College*
Pine Technical and Community College**
Rainy River Community College*
Ridgewater College*
Riverland Community College**
Rochester Community and Technical College**
St. Cloud Technical and Community College*
Saint Paul College**
South Central College**
Vermilion Community College (waiving fees October 22 – 31)

Bemidji State University*
Metropolitan State University**
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University Moorhead*
Southwest Minnesota State University*
St. Cloud State University*
Winona State University

* Colleges and universities waiving fees for all of October

** Colleges and universities that never charge an application fee

Minnesota State includes 30 community and technical colleges and seven state universities serving approximately 375,000 students. It is the fourth-largest system of two-year colleges and four-year universities in the United States.