Finalists for the Presidency of Alexandria Technical and Community College Named

Posted: March 28, 2019

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

ST. PAUL, Minn., Mar. 28, 2019 – Minnesota State has named three finalists in the search for the next president of Alexandria Technical and Community College (ATCC). The candidates are Laura Driscoll, Jeanine Gangeness, and Michael Seymour.

The candidates were recommended by a search advisory committee comprised of students, faculty, staff, and community leaders, and chaired by Hara Charlier, president of Central Lakes College. The candidates are scheduled to visit the campus April 2 to 4. The campus visits provide an opportunity for students, faculty, staff, and members of the community to meet each of the candidates and offer feedback. Details of the candidates’ campus visits and the process for providing feedback are available at

Photo of Laura Driscoll


Laura Driscoll has served Casper College (WY) as executive dean of continuing education since 2013, and as dean of continuing education and community partnerships from 2005 to 2013.  Previously, she served the University of North Dakota as director of new markets and partnerships from 2003 to 2005 and as coordinator of credit correspondence from 1999 to 2003. She has teaching experience at both the University of North Dakota and Casper College. She holds a bachelor’s degree, a master’s, and a doctorate from the University of North Dakota. She will visit the ATCC campus on April 3.


Photo of Jeanine Gangeness


Jeanine Gangeness has served Winona State University as associate vice president of academic affairs and dean of the School of Graduate Studies since 2015. Previously, she served Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College from 2002 to 2015 in several capacities including as an assistant professor, professor, and chair of the Department of Nursing, and as founding dean of the Bemidji School of Nursing. She earned a diploma from Northwest Technical College, an associate degree from Northland Community and Technical College, and a bachelor’s degree, a master’s, and a doctorate from the University of North Dakota. She will visit the ATCC campus on April 2.


Photo of Michael Seymour


Michael Seymour has served Lake Superior Colle ge as vice president of academic and student affairs since 2015. Previously, he served the University of Minnesota, Duluth as vice chancellor for finance and operations from 2012 to 2015. He also served Anoka-Ramsey Community College 1997 to 2012 in various capacities including as chief information officer/dean; vice president for administration; and provost and chief operating officer. He holds an associate degree, a bachelor’s degree, and a master’s from Ferris State University (MI). He has teaching experience at St. Cloud State University and at Riverland Community College, and he serves as a peer reviewer for the Higher Learning Commission. He will visit the ATCC campus on April 4.


The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees is expected to consider Chancellor Devinder Malhotra’s recommendation at its April 17 meeting. The anticipated start date of the new president is July 1, 2019.


Minnesota State includes 30 community and technical colleges and seven state universities serving approximately 375,000 students. It is the fourth-largest system of two-year colleges and four-year universities in the United States.