1A.11 College and University Names and Permanent Locations

Board Policies
Chapter 1 - System Organization and Administration
Section A - System & Office Operations

Access a PDF copy of this policy

Part 1. System Colleges and Universities. The following are the recognized Minnesota State colleges and universities and their permanent locations, as authorized by state law.

College and University Names

College or University Campuses, Centers
Alexandria Technical and Community College Alexandria
Anoka-Ramsey Community College Coon Rapids, Cambridge
Anoka Technical College Anoka
Bemidji State University* Bemidji
Central Lakes College Brainerd, Staples
Century College White Bear Lake/Mahtomedi**
Dakota County Technical College Rosemount
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College Cloquet
Hennepin Technical College Brooklyn Park, Eden Prairie
Inver Hills Community College Inver Grove Heights
Lake Superior College Duluth
Metropolitan State University St. Paul
Minneapolis Community and Technical College Minneapolis
Minnesota North College Hibbing, Grand Rapids, Eveleth, Virginia, International Falls, Ely
Minnesota State College - Southeast Red Wing, Winona
Minnesota State Community and Technical College Detroit Lakes, Fergus Falls, Moorhead, Wadena
Minnesota State University, Mankato Mankato
Minnesota State University Moorhead Moorhead
Minnesota West Community and Technical College Canby, Granite Falls, Jackson, Pipestone, Worthington
Normandale Community College Bloomington
North Hennepin Community College Brooklyn Park
Northland Community and Technical College East Grand Forks, Thief River Falls
Northwest Technical College* Bemidji
Pine Technical and Community College Pine City
Ridgewater College Hutchinson, Willmar
Riverland Community College Albert Lea, Austin, Owatonna
Rochester Community and Technical College Rochester
Saint Paul College St. Paul
St. Cloud State University St. Cloud
St. Cloud Technical and Community College St. Cloud
South Central College Faribault, North Mankato
Southwest Minnesota State University Marshall
Winona State University Winona

* Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College report to one president.

** Single campus located in adjacent cities.

Part 2. Additional Sites. Courses and programs are also available online and at other sites throughout the state.

Part 3. Name Changes. College or university name changes and taglines must be in accordance with Policy 3.23.

Related Documents:

Policy History:

Date of Adoption: 09/17/08
Date of Implementation: 09/17/08
Date of Last Review:

Date & Subject of Amendments:

05/23/22 – Deleted the individual references to the five colleges that make up the Northeast Higher Education District.

03/16/22 – The Board of Trustees approve the reorganization and consolidation of Hibbing Community College, Itasca Community College, Mesabi Range College, Rainy River Community College, and Vermilion Community College, resulting in the Northeast Higher Education District becoming the sole HLC-accredited entity and operating henceforth as a single unified college with six branch campuses. The merged institution will operate under the name “Minnesota North College” starting May 23, 2022.

01/27/21 – The Board approved a name change for Northeast Higher Education District (NHED) Consolidation to Minnesota North College. The new name will take effect upon completion of the merger of the five colleges into a single accredited institution (anticipated for fall of 2022).

06/22/16 – The Board of Trustees approved a name change from Minnesota State College – Southeast Technical to Minnesota State College - Southeast. 

Additional HISTORY